Skip to content

WOMEN’S MINISTRY

ABOUT WOMEN’S MINISTRY

Our Women’s Ministry exists to live everyday captivated and changed by Jesus by connecting in community. Join us in a study, an event or an outreach. We would love to include you!

IMG_0486

Dawn Spicer

Women’s Ministry Leader // dawn.spicer@riveroakchurch.org

Dawn and her husband Jeremy have been part of the River Oak family since 2008.  Dawn is a native to this area, growing up in our neighboring city, Virginia Beach.  She has a degree in Religion – Christian Ministries from Liberty University.  Dawn is passionate about reaching and teaching women and leads our Women’s Ministry here at River Oak.  She and Jeremy were married in 2001 and have identical twin boys, Kaden and Landen.  In her free time she loves spending time with all of her guys, reading a good book and soaking up the sun at the beach. 

Connect with us on social media!

Women’s Ministry

HOW CAN WE PRAY FOR YOU?

We know life can sometimes be overwhelming! Whether it is battling an illness, working a stressful job, single, parenting, being a wife or mom, caring for a sick loved one, we understand it can sometimes be tough. Whatever season of life you are currently in, women’s ministry cares and seeks to be a refuge of prayer and encouragement! If you have a prayer request, please fill out the form below so that we can lift one another up.

WOMEN’S GROUPS

REGISTRATION FOR ALL FALL 2021 WILL OPEN SUNDAY, AUGUST 29TH!
*CHILDCARE IS AVAILABLE FOR ALL STUDIES.


Sunday

9:30AM | Continuing Elijah by Priscilla Shirer
Susan Alberson | salberson@cox.net

11:15 | Single Mom’s Life Group | Esther by Beth Moore  
Hannah Nipps | hmnipps@gmail.com

Tuesday (Beginning September 14th)

9:30AM | Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver 
Kelly Brown | cb-kb@hotmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Women’s Fitness Class | Women, Faith, Fitness 
Julie Black | jrblack318@gmail.com

 

10AM | Homeschool Group | 2nd Tuesday of every month
Heather Harrington | homeschoolmoms2016@gmail.com 

6:30PM |
Kingdom Women by Chrystal Evans Hurst  and Tony Evans  
Victoria Overton | Vmjoverton@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

6:30PM | Women’s Prayer Group 
Julie Kalenichenko |  julikal@gmail.com

Wednesday (Beginning September 15th)

6:30PM | Elijah by Priscilla Shirer
Gracie Morales | morwoman4christ@yahoo.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

6:30PM | What Does It Mean to Be Chosen by Dallas and Amanda Jenkins
Colleen Leary | colleenleary54@gmail.com | Dorisann Cameron dorisann1@cox.net | **Books will be available for purchase in class.

 

6:30PM | Precepts – Colossians
Laura Osborn | losborn@prodigy.net |
This class gives teachers CEU credit whose Christian school are ASCI accredited. https://www.precept.org/precept-and-continuing-education/

Thursday (Beginning September 16th)
*IN ADDITION TO CHILDCARE, A HOMESCHOOL ROOM WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR THURSDAY MORNING BIBLE STUDIES

9:30AM | God of Deliverance by Jen Wilkin
Sue Hilton | sue.hilton@riveroakchurch.org | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Seamless by Angie Smith
Elizabeth Andersen | eandersen1@yahoo.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | All Things New by Kelly Minter
Karen Cochran | cochran13@cox.net | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Full: Food, Jesus, and the Battle for Satisfaction
Kelly Brown |  cb-kb@hotmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Trustworthy by Lysa Terkeurst
Dolly Mink | dollymink@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Truthfilled by Ruth Chou Simons
Dawn Spicer | dawn.spicer@riveroakchurch.org **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Girlfriend Revolution by Susan Thomas
Amy Jo Easterday | amyjo.easterday@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased at https://www.passionatelife.com/bible-studies-books/girlfriend-revolution/

 

9:30AM | Military Wives Bible Study | Finding God Faithful by Kelly Minter
Krynn Burt | krynn.burt@riveroakchurch.org | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | How to Study Your Bible by Kay Arthur
Donna Cunningham | donnadcunningham@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

9:30AM | Moms of Littles | Growing Slow by Jennifer Duke Lee
Summer Michaelson & Ashley Turley | summer.michaelson@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or https://jenniferdukeslee.com/growingslow/resources/

 

6:30PM | Finding God Faithful by Kelly Minter
Melissa Garlitz | mlgarlitz@outlook.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

6:30PM | Spanish Speaking Women’s Bible Study | Ester by Beth Moore (Spanish Version)
Tamara Ibanez & Tania Alvarez | oceans7700@gmail.com | **Books can be purchased on Amazon or Lifeway.com

 

7PM | Off-Campus Young Single Women’s Bible Study (Ages 25-35)
Vicki Knollenberg | vicki@asturiangroup.com

STAY UP TO DATE WITH SBCV WOMEN’S EVENTS!